Crime Podcasts – True Crime

If you’re reading this blog, then you must have an interest in reading crime. But are you interested in listening to others talking about real life crime?

When I was working in an office, I used to listen to a lot of audio books, some of which I’ve reviewed here, but one of the other things I used to listen to were true crime podcasts.

Now if you do a quick google search you will find loads of lists of true crime podcasts, and there is something for every taste. 

Podcasts, like everything else, come in all shapes and sizes, so you’re bound to find something you like. Over the years, I’ve listened to things about serial killers, legal complications, and all sorts. Some focus on one crime (Suspect), others are more general (Park Predators). What to hear about women who kill? Try Lady Killers with Lucy Worsley. I did find one that is all about hauntings, so I’m not entirely sure how that fits into true crime, but it’s there.

You can listen to individual crimes told over a series of podcasts or something different each week. There are celebrity tales (The Mysterious Death of Natalie Wood), and even one where the mystery is the presenter (Casefile).

I’ve recently found one that claims to be 99% murder free for those who don’t want to go to too far into the darkness, it’s called Ridiculous Crime if that’s your interest. And if you like something a little different, there’s even Who Shat on The Floor at My Wedding? Yes, that is a real thing and yes, that title is what it’s looking into.

My personal favourite was All Killa, No Filla, in which comedians Rachel Fairburn and Kiri Pritchard-McLean as they explore a shared passion, serial killers. This one actually made me laugh out loud in places.

The point really is that if you like true crime and want to give your eyes a rest, prick up your ears and listen to some true crime.

References:
https://www.townandcountrymag.com/leisure/arts-and-culture/g28555490/best-true-crime-podcasts
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/podcasts/factual-crimeandjustice-truecrime
https://allkillanofilla.libsyn.com

One thought on “Crime Podcasts – True Crime

Leave a comment